Felipe Nasr passed Matthieu Vaxiviere for the lead with seven minutes remaining in Hour 8 of the 12 Hours of Sebring, giving both the lead and the full Michelin Endurance Cup bonus to the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac. The No. 31 team scored 10 bonus points today, and now trails Vaxiviere’s Daytona-winning No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac team by one point, 24-23.

Filipe Albuquerque was third in the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac, followed by Chris Miller in the No. 84 JDC Miller Cadillac and the lapped Penske Acura of Helio Castroneves.

Nine minutes into the eighth hour, Jan Magnussen managed to split the lead Fords, with the No. 3 Corvette passing Dirk Mueller in the No. 66 Ford. Then, Jess Krohn in the No. 24 BMW passed Mueller for third. Scott Dixon maintained a 15-second lead in the No. 67 Ford GT. At the end of the hour, it was Richard Westbrook leading in the No. 67 Ford, 16 seconds ahead of Magnussen.

Lars Kern led GTD as the No. 9 Pfaff Porsche continues to lead in the feel-good story of the day. The car was destroyed late in the Rolex 24 At Daytona, and sustained minor damage in a spin during today’s warm-up. Jeroen Bleekemolen was second in the No. 33 Mercedes-AMG, adding four points to Ben Keating’s Michelin Endurance Cup-leading tally, which now stands at 23.

No change in LMP2, with Kyle Masson and Performance Tech leading by 19 laps.

Weather conditions are improving, but there’s a chance of major rain after 9 p.m.